Questions? Feedback? powered by Olark live chat software

How to make a Customer Active or Inactive

Your website captures the details of every person who makes contact with it either by making an enquiry, placing an order, or creating a membership account. The website refers to every one of them as Customers, whether they have bought a product from you or not

In the administration end of your website you have two areas for customers – Active Customers & Inactive Customers. These two separate lists enable you to have some control over the people that you allow to log into your website as a member

Please note: A customer can only log into the website using their username and password if they are stored in the Active Customers list


How to make a customer Active


There are two ways to make a customer Active. The first way will trigger the "activation email" which means the customer will receive an email from you saying that their user name has been activated - provided you have firstly set up the Preferences > Membership setting where it says "Inform user by email when account activated?" to YES:
 
  1. In the administration end of the website, click in the Customers tab
  2. Click on the Inactive Customers tab
  3. Find the customer in the Inactive Customers list. Click on the small black arrow to the left of the username


    OR
  4. You can click in the check box to the left and then click the Activate Checked Customer button. This way you can activate multiple customers at once
  5. Both actions will move the customer into the Active Customers list

The second way to activate a customer will not trigger the email to be sent to the customer advising that they have been activated:
 
  1. Click into the customer username
  2. Click on the all or details tab and you will see "Inactive" - change that to No and save.
 

How to make a customer Inactive

  1. In the administration end of the website, click in the Customers tab
  2. Find the customer in the Active Customers list and click on the small black arrow to the left of the username


    OR
  3. You can click in the check box to the left and then click the Deactivate Checked Customers button at the bottom of the page. This way you can deactivate multiple customers at once
  4. Both actions will move the customer into the Inactive Customers list